Ironing Out Mistakes in a Presentation (best wishes)

I’m working on a 25 minute presentation for an upcoming talk at the AAPNA (Association of Ayurvedic Professionals of North America) annual conference July 4-6 in Boone, North Carolina.

(This summer just started on Saturday, June 21 and it marches on, and I haven’t been to a lake or a beach since Mother’s Day, back on May 11. On that day, my brother, my two sons, and my two sisters-in-law and I headed out for Greenleaf beach in Evanston Illinois, for a quick nap in the presence of the great Lake Michigan waves washing up on sand, a stalwart stress reliever. After that we saw the movie Belle.)

I have written some chaotic notes on a blank journal made of paper as well as on a word document electronically. I have the link to a video that I sent my client in order to help her put aside the stress she was experiencing. Here is the link to one of the most relaxing music videos I have ever seen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXqpsebHE0s&feature=related

The presentation draft might turn out to be brilliant, but I have a feeling I need to start practicing it orally in order to move it forward.

Writing for a speech may differ from writing for readers only. How does it differ for you? How does it differ to write for your own vocalizations rather than for others’ speeches?

As I imagine giving the speech, the interaction with the audience keeps entering my mind. However, when I write for a reading audience, I don’t imagine any interactions, at least not in the moment of delivery. Spoken presentations are much more momentary, and the exchanges happen so quickly.

The momentariness of speech makes practicing beforehand so necessary. Practice extends and lengthens the moment of the delivery and makes it more familiar to the speaker, so when the actual moment does come, the message being sent out stays more clearly and firmly in the speaker’s mind.

That’s one way to make sure to relax when delivering a presentation, and relaxing will allow humor and connections to take place, enchanting and attracting the listeners.

 

Leave a comment